Home Schooling Guidelines
The following information is being provided to assist you in complying with Arizona Home Schooling Laws.
Arizona Revised Statutes – ARS §15-828.B. If a child is instructed at home pursuant to section 15-802, the person who has custody of the child shall, within thirty days after the home instruction begins, provide to the county school superintendent of the county in which the child resides one of the following:
- A certified copy of the child’s birth certificate.
- Other reliable proof of the child’s identity and age, including the child’s baptismal certificate, an application for a social security number or original school registration records and an affidavit explaining the inability to provide a copy of the birth certificate.
- A letter from the authorized representative of an agency having custody of the pupil pursuant to title 8, chapter 2 certifying that the pupil has been placed in the custody of the agency as prescribed by law.
- On presentation of a document pursuant to this section, a photocopy of the document shall be placed in the pupil’s file and the document that is presented shall be returned.
- A pupil shall be enrolled in the school or school district, or the county school superintendent shall record the pupil’s name, using the name that is printed on the birth certificate, other reliable proof of the pupil’s identity, or letter from an agency having custody of the pupil provided pursuant to this section. This subsection does not prohibit a school or school district from calling a pupil by any name the pupil’s parent or guardian wishes the pupil to be called.
- On the failure of a person enrolling a pupil or instructing a child at home to comply with subsection A or B of this section, the school, school district or county school superintendent shall notify that person in writing that, unless the person complies within ten days, the case shall be referred to the local law enforcement agency for investigation. If compliance is not obtained within the ten day period, the school, school district or county school superintendent shall refer the case to the local law enforcement agency.
Where do I start?
Submit Affidavit of Intent to Home School
An Affidavit of Intent must be filed within 30 days of the beginning of home instruction. If you wish to mail the affidavit to our office, it must be notarized.
The parent or guardian of the child receiving home instruction in Arizona, is required to provide one of the following to this office:
- An original or a certified copy of the birth certificate for the pupil. (Photocopies will NOT be accepted)
- Other reliable proof of the pupil’s identity and age, including baptismal certificate, an application for a Social Security number, United States Passport, United States Military ID, or original school registration records and an affidavit explaining the inability to provide a copy of the birth certificate.
- A letter from the authorized representative of an agency having custody of the pupil certifying that the pupil has been placed in the custody of the agency as prescribed by law.
Please notify our office within 30 days of the termination of home instruction:
Home School Pupil Withdrawal and/or Change of Information Form
The Next Step:
The State of Arizona requires that children between the ages of 6 and 16 be instructed in the following subjects:
READING | GRAMMAR | SCIENCE
MATHEMATICS | SOCIAL STUDIES
Books may be available on loan from your local school. It is, however, up to the discretion of the individual districts.
You may request from your school district the standards for each of the subject areas or visit the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) website
Please contact us if you have any questions regarding home instruction.
Support groups are well organized, experienced, and plentiful should you need assistance:
Knowledge House is an informative website for parents who are thinking about home schooling.
Arizona Families for Home Education, a statewide organization that supports and promotes home education, is a group which hosts an annual Senior High Graduate Recognition Ceremony, an annual Junior High Graduate Recognition Ceremony, and an annual state home school convention and curriculum fair. For more information on these and other Home Education information, contact them using the options shown below:
Visit Arizona Families for Home Education website
Email Arizona Families for Home Education
24-hour information (602) 235-2673
Additional Home School Information
Our office does not issue diplomas to home schooled students. A child must enroll in a Public School to receive a diploma or receive a GED. In addition to the above high school alternative, you may wish to contact the following GED Programs:
Yavapai College at 776-2200 or ADE at 602-258-2410 ext. 222.
School districts are required to allow home schooled students to participate in interscholastic activities. The home schooled student must meet the same eligibility requirements, such as passing grades (as certified by the parent), as regular students. If there is a charge (Pay for Play, etc.), the home schooled student must pay the same fee as other students. Academic activities are not the same as interscholastic activities. Schools can take a home schooled student for any number of classes if the district wants to. However, unless a student is enrolled for at least ¼ time (as applicable to age of student) the district receives no state aid and is under no obligation to take a home schooled student.
If your child requires special education services, please contact your local school district or charter school. You may also call Exceptional Student Services with ADE at 800- 352-4558.
ARS §15-745 does not require the testing of children who are home schooled. You may wish to contact your local school district to inquire if they will accommodate your child during their testing periods. Please note, however, they are under no obligation to do so.
Public School At Home Options
Correspondence schooling is available if your student needs to complete coursework at home. Here are a few of the many choices:
- Arizona Virtual Academy, 866-339-4947
- Internet Home School, 928-708-9404
- Mesa Distance Learning Program, 480-472-7285
- Blueprint Education, 1-800-426-4952
- HSLDA (Home School Legal Defense Association)
- Primavera Online High School